top of page

Book Thief; The Pursuit of Knowledge

My friend read this book, and truth be told, I watched the movie first. Like, Cinder, I didn't plan to read this book, but I guess I'm wrong a lot... I listened to the audiobook while walking to my classes, and it motivated me to read the book. The book is not a happy ending, its a human ending. Death, the narrator, tells us the end at the beginning, leaving the surprise of the end. The journey we take with Liesel, Rudy, Max, and her mama and papa is filled with humanity. "Make no mistake, the woman had a heart. She had a bigger one that people would think. There was a lot in it, stored up, high in miles of hidden shelving. Remember that she was the woman with the instrument strapped to her body in the long, moon-slit night." Rosa, Liesel's foster mama, was a force to be reckoned with; her foster papa, Hans, was a light in the dark of Liesel's life, staying up with her when she had nightmares. For anyone who wants to read this book, do it, it may just change your life.

*Subtitle given by Quin, thanks

bottom of page