top of page

Game of Thrones; a Bloody good book

It is the death of me. My friend, Griffin, kinda forced me into reading it, by bugging and pestering me. I started reading it, even though my longtime friend warned me against it. I have to say that I got sucked in. I'm a huge sci-fi, fantasy, and history nerd, and this was the cake. I watched the show at the same time that I was reading the book, and had to pace myself so I didn't reveal something that was important to the plot of the book (the book was more important). So, if you ever have a chance to read and watch the show, pick one to devote time to first, and then focus on the other. I really felt for the Stark family, like I personally would not want someone coming and almost forcing me to move away from the place that I know and call home. The politics of Westeros seemed like stuff of fantasy, until I watched a video that explained the historical ties to the series, The War of the Roses. I was entrapped by the book, and it is now one of my favorites. So, if you're fine with a bit of blood and gore, some really explicit scenes, and underlying politics; this is the book for you.

bottom of page