top of page

Red Queen; Rise, Red as the Dawn

So, this book was a recommendation from my friend, Keri. I started reading it, and honestly thought that it was going to be like the Hunger Game style of dystopian Young Adult literature. I was wrong, though it does have a bit of the same notions, like an oppressed people, a young woman with a male friend, and possibly a love triangle. But, after reading Heartless, and the Lunar Chronicles, I actually enjoyed this book. The Silver Court and their politics reminds me of Game of Thrones, and why I love that series so much. Mare, the main character is like Katniss mixed with Zuko, with a dash of an X-Men character. The plot is nicely written, like I was expected the YA dystopian template, but I was thoroughly surprised; so, if you are a fan of Game of Thrones, Avatar the Last Airbender, Hunger Games, or Divergent, go read this book.

bottom of page