top of page

Snow Like Ashes; Book like Hunger Games

So, this may be one of the books that I am on the fence on. I liked it and I disliked it. The reason that I liked it is because of the slight similarities to Game of Thrones (one of my favorite series). The reason I dislike it however is it reminds me too much of the love triangle in Hunger Games. Meira is a strong character, very alike to Katniss, and she ends up 'liking' two of the guys she interacts with. This is what threw me on the fence. I really like the fantasy and politics, with a dash of war, but the romance that seem to fill YA dystopian books didn't get my good graces. All in all, I will say that I will be reading the rest of the series, and I may change my opinion, but for now I will say that this book is neither my favorite nor the one I hate.

bottom of page