top of page

The Selection: A dystopian bachelor

So, I listened this book because I needed something to occupy my time when walking to class. I thought it would be okay, because I've heard some of my friends read this and recommend it to others. I was wrong, I really did not like this book. It could just be me, but I didn't enjoy listening to it. I felt really awkward at the use of the caste system, it could be because I'm Indian and that's a part of my history, but I didn't enjoy that. The names made me laugh, granted my mother was going to name me Amy Erica (America), similar to the main character, but other names, Tuesday, Ahren, Emmica, and Leelan. I felt for the relationship between Aspen and America, fighting the caste system that kept them apart. Though, you kinda know that she will be one of the selected, she is the main character, there is no surprise there. I also liked Maxon, I felt for him, relating to how he didn't really have relationships in his life because of the way he was brought up. Illèa reminds me too much of Panem from the Hunger Games, especially with the mention of rebels, like we are seeing the opposite side of the Hunger Games, only in this no one dies. There are points and characters that I do like in this book, don't get me wrong, but it follows the path of other YA fiction a little too closely. There is a part after America starts to like Maxon, when Aspen is sent to the palace as a guard; really convenient if you ask me, and this starts a love triangle. This love triangle seems to be too fabricated and too alike to the "love triangle" in Twilight. So, to summarize that really long post, I didn't enjoy this book because it sounded too much like other books and the Bachelor mixed, but I will say this with other books I don't like, you should still give it a chance if you wanted to.

bottom of page