top of page

Stephen Discovers Treasures of America

So this is a first for me on this blog, I haven't read a proper children's book in a long time, other than browsing at work. This one was a request by the author, and I thought why not, I haven't read a picture book in a long time, it could be a nice little piece of nostalgia.

Stephen is a kid who finds these little 'treasures' with his metal detector, given to him by his grandparents. The items found by the metal detector, nicknamed his 'treasure detector', and he links each of his finds to events in American history. This was a nice surprise to me, because I don't really remember that many books that feature history in such a cute and straightforward fashion. Stephen, the main character was really cool, knowing information from the polio vaccine to the Vikings. If you want a book for your kid, or for your kid at heart, this is the book for you.

bottom of page