top of page

Fallen; Fallen from Grace, Swept into Romance.

Warning: DNF, and some spoilers

I have a habit of reading books that come up in the available collection of my library's online catalog. This is how I got to this book. I had heard of it for a while, and thought I read a book similar to this. Boy was I wrong.

So, where we start off is a man's thoughts, his love for a woman that he can't have for whatever reason. I liked the preface of that.What I got from the transition of his POV to the actual main character is a reincarnation deal. From there, we meet Luce, a girl that has been haunted by shadows for her entire life, so much so that her family believes her insane and sends her to Dover and Sword&Cross, reform schools that they believe will help her. She meets an interesting cast of characters, including her two love interests, Cam and Daniel. Daniel, a character with a secret (Not really a secret if you search his name). We first meet him with him flipping Luce off. Now you're thinking, people flip others off, what's the big deal? Well, this leads Luce to fall into the strange obsession with Daniel, even foregoing a potential relationship with Cam. That my friends is the basic plot of the book, Luce's stalking of Daniel all because he is a smoldering guy, and because he flipped her off.

So we find out some things about the group in Sword& Cross (I peeked at Wiki), and we find out that we have angels, and beings working for Satan. Fun, right? I would agree if it followed a proper trend. I'm not even Christian and I felt off about the way that Kate portrayed the angels and beings. Like Gabbe, who is (surprise, surprise) the Archangel Gabriel.

So, to sum up this book. I felt that it has a place on the bookshelves right next to works like Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey, mainly for their lack of plot, their inappropriate ideas of romance, and lack of a proper plot formation and flow. So, if you have read this book and think otherwise, please comment and let me know what you think, I'm open to rereading it if anyone makes a compelling argument. But for now, this book has left me with a hunger for a piece of quality literature.

bottom of page