top of page

The Gentleman's Guide to Vice and Virtue

This book was a recommendation from my ever loyal and ever loving best friend, Deedee, and knowing that she took the time to read this, I had to read this myself. I also love reading about more diverse characters, and hearing of Victorian England being more human that in novels that I’ve read in my childhood. When I first heard of this book I thought it would be a romance novel, similar to Fallen or Twilight, but I was thoroughly surprised.

Henry Montague is a character that I slightly relate to (Not the drinking and sexual exploits), but by the fact that he is trying to understand who he is, and dealing with his feelings towards one of his closest friends. It is wonderful to be along for the ride where he grows as a person. We first meet him as the standard rake of the time, boozing it up and having fun with anyone he can find. But, throughout the book we get to see him grow on his own, we get to know that he is human and can mature past being an alcoholic rake. He and his best friend, Percy, are truly people that I would love to meet in real life. The way that the pair balance each other is wonderful, and I'm jealous that they can have that person that can either keep them on the ground or help them see the stars.

Percy Newton is someone that everyone needs. A friend that is your perfect balance. Personally, I am so glad that Deedee is my Percy (without the lifelong pining). Percy brings Henry and his wild ideas closer to the ground, while not preventing him from being himself. Percy is Henry’s protector, and plays a major role in the book’s progression.

The plot is strong, with even stronger characters, all dealing with their personal problems and struggles. We get to see people come out of their shells, and become their own people. So, for anyone who is like me, still discovering who they are, please read this. You’ll have a good laugh, maybe a good cry, and possibly find someone that is so much like you.

bottom of page