top of page

Wishful Drinking; Getting to know a Princess and a General

So, to be completely honest, I didn’t know if I actually wanted to read this, because Carrie Fisher helped shape my childhood. She, as Princess Leia, helped me to see that you can be in power, and be strong when the rest of the world doubts you. I did listen to the audiobook, because I thought it would be nice to have a chance to listen to Carrie Fisher talking to me personally, since I missed any chance of meeting her (May the Force always be with you Carrie).

If you want an autobiography that gets to the point, read this. It’s about three parts, and in those three parts you get to know Carrie on a personal level. You get the chance to be part of Carrie that fans and moviegoers did not know of. The Hollywood ‘incest’ that occurred with all the actors marrying each other, the relationship Carrie shared with Debbie Reynolds (another idol in my life), and how she struggled with all the obstacles that come with fame.

It is so nice to honestly get to know someone who helped shape my childhood. This book makes Carrie FIsher seem like a relatable human, granted with extraordinary stories, but someone who lived, loved, and made herself.

bottom of page