top of page

The 14th Colony; A cold fight for the Great White North

Let me begin that this isn't a book that I would usually read, but I made a weird resolution to listen to all the fiction audiobooks at my local library, and well this book was one of the first in alphabetical order. So, I dived in to whatever I got myself into. And, boy did I get myself into something.

This book is part of a series about the Magellan Billet, an Intelligence agency that works internationally for America. This book features the rivalry between Russia and the US, a rivalry that has spanned since World War II. This rivalry is stoked in the new millennia by ex-KGB officers that craved revenge. The main character, Cotton Malone must save the country from a terrorist attack, and a unknown attempt for the 14th colony, Canada. We are part of the journey on both sides of the struggle, riding with Cotton and the Magellan Billet; while hearing the reasoning for why the KGB officers were doing what they were planning. You can definitely feel the tension of the situations, and you can feel the emotions of each character, and how they fit in the large puzzle that is American and Russian relations.

One part of this book that got me smiling, which is a weird statement for a book like this; is the fact that part of the book is featured in Canada (Parts that I knew) and the KGB officers traveled into Maine (My home). The part that was accidentally funny was the way that the narrator said Bangor, and my fellow Mainers can relate on the fact that Bangor is not pronounced 'banger'. That little blip in the book made me laugh and I know that it was not meant, but the personal connection to the setting was something that kept my attention.

In a few words, I really enjoyed the book, while it was not a book that I would usually read. It does take some time for the fact that the switches of the POV is not clearly listed, and flows in a strange fashion. Overall, give the book some time, and maybe take some notes, but because of that you may find a new series that can crave a piece of your heart.

bottom of page