top of page

Women's Murder Club Series; a blood curdling series

This is part of the whole "read the whole fiction section" of my local library's online collection. These books came before and after the 14th colony, but I thought I would write about them all together, because of the flow between the books.

The Women's Murder Club is a series featuring a police detective, Lindsay Boxer, and her friends; all of which deal with crime and murder in their daily lives. From medical examiners to crime reporters, the friend group is surrounded by the crimes that occur in San Fran. Each book deals with multiple crimes that tie together, and this is a rather interesting approach, because some elements of previous books have been mentioned in books later in the series. I will say, that as someone who was listening to the audiobooks, not knowing who was which person (One person was narrating) was a little jarring. Personally, I think the audiobooks would be better if there were more people voicing the multiple individual characters.

I will admit that I started with the 11th book in the series, but even that book got me stuck in the series, and if you have heard of these books, you know that its not a short series. Another reason that I couldn't really stop reading was the fact that women are the main people doing the crime solving. Yes, there are men in the book and they work with the women, but this is a book for women raised on books and movies featuring men solving the problems. So, thanks James Patterson for giving women the view that we can solve crimes, be bosses, and be really bad-asses. I will say that if you want to read a book or series with strong, independent women, take a crack at these books.

bottom of page