top of page

Escaping from Houdini; A book to keep you spellbound

So, y'all know that I was in love with Stalking Jack the Ripper, the first book in this series, so when I saw that this was out, I jumped at the chance to read it. And boy, was I in for a ride. I already had the understanding of what Maniscalo offers readers, and I can say with certainty that this one gives readers the thrill of the chase that we crave.

We again follow Audrey Rose Wadsworth and Thomas Creswell, this time following Audrey Rose's uncle to a case in America. The pair are on a cruise with their chaperone, and we start in the grand dining room of the cruise liner, watching a magic show that promises to capture your attention, and maybe your life. A series of murders occur on-board, during the magic shows that are set as entertainment. Along with the scandalizing murders, a mysterious Mephistopheles, the ring leader of the carnival, captivates Audrey Rose. I was on the edge of my seat for most of the book.

I also stan a queen, because Audrey Rose breaks conventions of the time period. She focuses on her career rather than her finding a suitable husband, and I can admire the strength that takes. Its nice that she is basically engaged in this book, but sometime that got me drawn closer to the character was a scene where a fortune teller offered to her Audrey Rose who she'll marry, but she was adamant about wanting to know her career success rather than the man she'd be tied to for her life. That spark of femininity and strength was inspiring, and if I had read this when I was younger, I feel like that would have inspired more than it does today.

I will say that it is reminiscence of older mystery novels, where you don't know who the murderer is until the final pages, and that is what I think can draw readers into the pages. You may be a Sherlock Holmes in your own right, but there is always a twist that will make you rethink everything. This is a book and its series that I highly recommend, because it

bottom of page