top of page

The Name of the Wind; A Song of Study

Most of the books that I talk about on here seem to be ones that are recommended to me, or are given by the author. This book was a recommendation by my coworker, Brian, and was something that he has been talking to me about since we met in training. So, here it is Brian.

We start at the Waystone Inn, owned by Kote, a mysterious man with a very mysterious past. One day, the Chronicler came by the Waystone, and meets Kote or Kvothe (depends who you ask). We get swept up in Kvothe telling us about his life and story. Kvothe is the son of a troupe of artists. He is a very fast learner, being taught by an arcanist names Ben. His life is changed when his family are murdered by the Chandrian, a mystic and unknown group. Kvothe is left on his own, and we get to follow him as he makes his way to the University; being homeless and a thief for a period of time. Once he makes it to the University, his life is quite different than he thought, with new friends, lovely ladies, and masters that seem to hate him. He is determined to learn more about the Chandrian, and defeat them to avenge his family.

Reading this book, it took me a little while to get into the book, but after ~100 pages, I could not put it down. The book is large, and I was never without it, so much so that people thought I was reading the Bible (I haven't in a good spell). But you feel for Kvothe, understanding his struggle and what it takes to be the man and master that he wants to be. If you love fantasy, and know that you can get past the first slow chunk, you will fall in love with this book, just like I have.

bottom of page